My Collection Has Definitely Been Fuji-fied

When I first checked out San Jose Fuji’s tradelists at The Chronicles of Fuji, I thought there might be a trade in the making (he collects A’s, Padres, Packers, Sharks, well, several teams), but when Fuji-san and I started exchanging emails, I discovered just how massive this trade became.  In all, 21 relic and auto cards changed hands; maybe not big name players, but just the same…

I’m glad I created my relic/auto havelist ahead of time, which I consulted heavily to choose cards to trade for.  Neither of us had a solid idea what the value of our trade packages were, but we both decided to use COMC-based prices as guidelines.  While Fuji proposed a trade based on the book values there, I re-evaluated them based on the asking prices.  Turns out, the trade worked out to be pretty fair using either comparison, so the trade was a go.


clockwise, from top left: 2007 Ultimate Collection Ultimate Star Materials #SM-JN Joe Nathan, 2006 Artifacts AL/NL Artifacts Green #AL-SB Scott Baker [144/150], 2005 Donruss Champions Impressions Material #122 Lew Ford, 2010 Upper Deck UD Game Jersey #UDGJ-FL Francisco Liriano

Check out the two Marty Cordova signatures below: the ’97 Donruss Signature card sure looks like he had someone else sign for him (or he was in a big hurry); he has a lot of free time now to sign them, though!


clockwise, from top left: 1996 Leaf Signature Extended Dan Naulty, 1997 Donruss Signature Marty Cordova, 1997 Donruss Signature Ron Coomer, 2008 UD Masterpieces Stroke of Genius #SG-GP Glen Perkins, 1998 Donruss Signature Todd Walker, 1996 Leaf Signature Bronze Marty Cordova

It bothers me that the card with the highest book value is the Todd Walker card. Walker played with the Twins between the retirement of Puckett & Molitor, and the emergence of the playoff teams of the 2000s, so being an up-and-comer, he was included in EVERYTHING. And he wasn’t worth the exposure.

And no doubt my favorite card in the bunch was Fuji’s own “trade”mark card.   Sure, it’s based on the 2008 Topps set, and it’s from a South Park character creator, but dude, it’s got class! And his trading and contact data is conveniently located on the back.  You’re a class act, Fuji — great trading with you!

4 responses to “My Collection Has Definitely Been Fuji-fied

  1. Hey David… glad the package arrived safely. I received yours in the mail today. As soon as the electrician leaves, I’ll rip it open and post it up on my blog.

    Thanks again for the trade! Gotta love it when both sides get an opportunity to boost their PC’s.

  2. Love the new cards (especially the Donruss and Leaf sigs), love the idea of a relic/auto have list (may have to steal it), AND love the snow effect on the blog. Solid stuff.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.