An Excellent Heinie And Another Slew Of Lew

You never know what will happen when you simply drop a comment at a blog, but if the blog is Number 5 Type Collection, and it’s a contest post like Matthew’s Fourth Anniversary HOF Contest, well, you may already be a winner!

Not only did I win the Heinie Manush card below, but he included a nice upgrade for my ’73 Kaat!


1973 Topps #530 Jim Kaat; 1961 Fleer #57 Heinie Manush

Thanks, and congrats again on the four years!

I’m not a Lew Ford “supercollector” by any stretch, but I tend to be more on the lookout for his cards when I’m bored and I scan eBay in the evenings. Here are a few picked up at reasonable prices over the past couple weeks:


clockwise, from top left: 2005 Donruss Signature Series INKcredible #IS-31 Lew Ford/Jason Kubel (dual auto); 2005 Fleer National Pastime Signature Swings Gold #SS-LF Lew Ford [104/190] (auto); 2005 Donruss Diamond Kings Bronze #132 Lew Ford [106/200] (jersey&bat), 2005 Fleer Playoff Prestige Xtra Bases Purple #90 Lew Ford [09/50] (auto)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.