Supercollector? Well, Maybe…

I haven’t mentioned it here before, but I’ve been slowly working on my Brett Graves Project, in which I’ve been attempting to “supercollect” the cards of Oakland A’s prospect Brett Graves. Why Brett? Because he’s a local boy whose family I know; among other things I sing once a month with his mother and a few other friends at a local nursing home. Brett’s been making nice progress in the A’s minor league system, pitching in the Midwest League All-Star Game this past summer.

brett
a page of 2014 Panini Prizm Perennial Draft #8

Although I pursue all Twins player cards, I don’t supercollect any of those players because:

  • I only collect players while they were on the Twins
  • I don’t (actively) collect minor league cards
  • I don’t (actively) collect unlicensed products (post-2010 Upper Deck, post-2005 Donruss, Panini, etc)

So far the experiment is going well — even staying within reasonable costs, I’ve snagged a large percentage of Brett’s cards, including four printing plates. There are a handful I still need out on eBay, but until they have realistic prices, I’ll stand my ground. My checklist is based on research I’ve done, and there are at least a few cards I’m questioning their existence.

Also, some additional pickups…

HOF new
clockwise, from top left: 2003 Topps Retired Signatures #TA-BB Bert Blyleven (auto uncirculated); 1997 Bowman Best #33 Paul Molitor (auto); 2015 Topps Update Career High #CHA-JGR J.R. Graham (auto); 2015 Topps Supreme Simply Supreme #SSA-KV Kennys Vargas (auto); 2014 Bowman Sterling Prospect Refractor Green #BSPA-NG Nick Gordon [070/125] (auto); 2015 Topps Allen & Ginter #AGA-TM Trevor May (auto); 2007 Topps Finest Finest Moments #RFMA-JM Justin Morneau (auto); 2014 Topps Triple Threads Unity Auto Jumbo Relics Emerald #UAJR-RN Ricky Nolasco [02/50] (auto/jersey)

Leave a Reply

