All Hail The LCS!

It pains me to read other bloggers’ laments concerning their Local Card Shop(s), particularly with how well my LCS owner treats me. I always have a place to go to talk baseball and shake off the estrogen (besides sharing the house with my wife and daughter, the new dog is female, too!) and of course to browse cards. Here’s another great example: I dropped an email to Mark at Baseball Plus asking what his hours were this week; in his reply, he also mentioned “I have some cards for you.”

Boy, did he!


clockwise, from top left: 2007 Topps Opening Day #ODA-55 Shannon Stewart (auto); 2011 Topps Triple Threads Relic Sepia #TTR-55 Justin Morneau [17/27] (jersey); 2009 Upper Deck Icons Future Foundations #FF-FL Francisco Liriano (jersey); 2010 Topps Chrome Refractor Blue #202 Drew Butera [039/199] (auto); 2007 Bowman Heritage Signs of Greatness Black #SG-JM Jeff Manship [15/52] (auto); 2005 Upper Deck Origins “Old Judge” Materials #OJ-HU Torii Hunter (jersey)

Seems he mentioned to a customer that he knew of a Twins collector, and that customer and his sons brought in a few stacks that Mark culled through and pulled what he thought that I needed.


clockwise, from top left: 2006 Upper Deck Sweet Spot Signatures #184 Chris Heintz [018/275] (auto); 2001 Fleer Game Time Uniformity Brad Radke (jersey); 2011 Topps Update Leather Nameplate #MGL-TN Tsuyoshi Nishioka (nameplate); 2011 Topps Lineage 1975 Mini Relic #75R-JMA Joe Mauer (jersey); 2006 Upper Deck SPx Rookie Signatures #152 Boof Bonser [933/999] (auto); 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces Stroke of Genius #SG-NB Nick Blackburn (auto)

All told, 12 of the 14 AU/GU cards were ones I needed (and the other two are good trade bait), probably a couple dozen other cards including some nice parallels and s#’d cards, and another dozen or so that I already had but would also make good trade bait.


clockwise, from top left: 2007 Topps Triple Threads #125 Johan Santana [0342/1350]; 2002 Topps Archives Reserve #78 Tony Oliva; 2011 Topps Finest Refractor #55 Joe Mauer [025/549]; 2011 Topps Update Target Red Border #US177 Rene Tosoni; 2006 Bowman Originals #7 Joe Mauer; 2006 Topps Gold #122 Justin Morneau [1253/2006]

Plus, all at a fair price. Well, I’m assuming a fair price; I haven’t brought them back in to let him know what I’m buying from him and what I’m not, but they’ve always been a fair price in the past. And now I know where the $25 gift certificate in my Christmas stocking is going! Thanks again, Mark.

2 responses to “All Hail The LCS!

  1. we dont have an LCS that i know of. most of the little independents i would stop at closed up shop. if anybody knows a cool little place in the san gabriel valley, (LA) – let me know.

  2. I love my LCS too. They are super cool and post things on the bid board that they know I would bid on.

Leave a Reply

