1974 Was A Good Year…

…for baseball cards to trade to reader Mike. He dropped me a comment recently asking if I had any 1974 Topps cards that he needed for his set building; turned out I did have nine of them. His trade package arrived, and in it were several 2010 and 2011 cards — some WalMart black border parallel, some Topps and Bowman Gold, a Diamond Anniversary parallel, and some base and inserts, half of which I needed and the other half definitely useful.


clockwise, from top left: 2010 Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects Gold #BDPP88 Alex Wimmers; 2011 Topps WalMart black border #109 AL Batting Leaders (Joe Mauer); 2010 Bowman Draft Picks Gold #BDP62 Anthony Slama; 2010 Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects #BDPP50 Logan Darnell

Your ’74s will be in tomorrow’s mail, Mike. Thanks again for the contacting me, and for the cards.

4 responses to “1974 Was A Good Year…

  1. Sentimental reasons: You were finally able to drive the John Deere on your own and listened to the Twins all day?

  2. I know I’m biased, but out of the 70s, ’74 Topps was the second worst design after ’78.

    My rankings (not that you cared nor asked) are:

    ’75
    ’71
    ’79
    ’76 (with the Bench card which is one of my favorite looking cards of all time)
    ’77
    ’73
    ’72
    ’70
    ’74
    ’78

    Thoughts?

    • Personally, ’75 is my least favorite; it’s much too gaudy, and puts too much emphasis on the border and not on the photo. I’m not too fond of the ’70s as a whole, but ’71 has to be my favorite, maybe mostly for sentimental reasons.

Leave a Reply

