Jim Goodreid Goes All Rambo On My Twins’ Wantlist

The other day I stumbled over fellow Twins cards collector Jim Goodreid’s website at Fun To Trade Cards and thought I’d see if he would be interested in a trade — I’d been building up my doubles from previous trades. Turns out, Jim has a pretty extensive collection, so finding anything he needed was a struggle. Meanwhile, Jim had scads of the base cards from my wantlist, and sent them along before I could even write up an IOU.

I thought I’d use this post to feature card images from this trade of some past and current Twins, and their nicknames with the gang over at WGOM.


clockwise, from top left: 1999 Fleer Sports Illustrated #91 Ron Coomer; 2003 Playoff Prestige #48 Torii Hunter, showing his “called third strike” face; 2002 Upper Deck Piece of History #31 Doug Mientkiewicz; 2001 Upper Deck Decade 1970’s #105 Bert Blyleven

Ron Coomer – “W.A.S.T.E“: this one is actually one I coined, and stands for “Worst All-Star Twin Ever”
Torii Hunter – “FotF (Face of the Franchise)“: he is also referred using other more derogatory body parts than “face”, mostly because there was never a topic he wouldn’t comment about, whether appropriate or not
Doug Mientkiewicz – “M11“:  just count the letters in his last name
Bert Blyleven…well, Bert is Bert.  What more can you say?


clockwise, from left: 2006 Fleer #368 Scott Baker; 2005 Topps Bazooka #177 Jason Kubel; 2006 Topps Heritage #202 Justin Morneau; 2005 Topps Cracker Jack #36 Joe Mauer – last name only? Who does he think he is, Ichiro?

Scott Baker – “Light Rail“: I wish this would catch on to a wider audience, it’s a great nick.  It started as a casual response to “Well, he’s no ‘Big Train’ Johnson.”
Jason Kubel – “The Dude“:  I’m sure there was a reason he was linked to the infamous Big Lebowski character; not sure how that happened, but it works for me.
Justin Morneau – “Mountie“, of course
Joe Mauer – “Baby Jeebus“, or “Chairman Mauer

Jim, thanks again for the trade, and you certainly have my reference as a great trade partner.  Hopefully some of the regulars will also have something you need and will drop you a line.  I’ll get back to you someday with another bunch of cards. Meanwhile, when I finally get back from this latest business trip, I have to perform a major overhaul on my wantlist…

Leave a Reply

