Thoughts on Thoughts and Sox

Fellow Show Me state collector AdamE from over at Thoughts on Sox dropped me a line a week ago letting me know he planned on attending a local StL card show, and he had a box of Twins that he want to hand me and expunge from his collection.  Even though I was heading to Omaha on a business trip that evening, the show was only 15 minutes away, and heck, I wouldn’t mind purging Red Sox paraphernalia from my own collection, so a meeting and a trade was on.

I hadn’t been to a card show in ages, so I printed up my Topps 1960s and 1970s wantlist, brought along a 1971 Topps Thurman Munson as possible trade, and after a few cellphone calls to track down Adam, headed on over.

clockwise, from top left: 2008 Donruss Threads Century Stars #CS-2 Harmon Killebrew; 2005 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites #92 Harmon Killebrew – cool 1970 reprint; 2005 Upper Deck Past Time Pennants #72 Rod Carew; 2005 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites #105 Rod Carew

I was late enough on the show’s last day that I wasn’t even charged the $4 admission, so I had that going for me, which is nice.  I never did find that elusive 1961 Topps high# Twins Team card, but for a couple bucks I picked up a couple dozen odd cards that I thought I might need.

I got the opportunity to meet Adam and his family, and we made our exchange as well.  I ended up with a big box of everything (what you’d expect in a purge), and besides the usual junk wax commons were a whole variety of cards to sort through; the perfect chore for sitting in a hotel in Omaha.  Several of the cards were reprints or featured past Twins veterans, including my childhood favorite, Rod Carew, so I have featured a few of those here.

clockwise, from top left: 1994 Fleer Ultra Career Achievement Award #5 Dave Winfield; 2006 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts #7 Earl Battey; 2000 Pacific Crown Royale Red #79 Corey Koskie; 2000 Upper Deck Legends #78 Harmon Killebrew

As always, great doing business with you, Adam, and good luck with the collecting.  If I sent too much back with you, consider it paying it forward, and think about me if you see any neat Twins cards (and maybe add my blog to your traders list?!).  Oh, and enjoy the pair of Pop Tarts glossies 😉

3 responses to “Thoughts on Thoughts and Sox

  1. Battey who????

  2. It was nice meeting you and I’m glad you liked the cards.

    I am indebted to you for all the 71s and 74s you gave me. You will receive every Twinkie card I get from now on.

    I plan on going to a card show next month. If I do go I will try to find that 61 Twins card for you. It is the least I can do.

    • Ha! Hey, don’t get TOO carried away! 🙂

      That ’61 Team card (and the ’61 Battey AS) are expensive hi#’s, and to get them in a decent condition would be more than I’d ask for that trade. Thanks for offering, though.

      Meanwhile, you’ve got me shoring up my wantlists more…which is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

