GCRL Sweeps the Doubleheader

It’s been a while since my first trade with GCRL, so when I was visiting Garvey Cey Russell Lopes and noticed that he was looking for ’71 Topps singles, I thought I’d strike up another trade.

Before I could package up what I’d pulled, his box had already arrived. And it looked like it was loaded for bear…


clockwise, from top left: 2009 Topps Wal-Mart Black Border #36 Kevin Slowey; 2004 Topps Traded & Rookies Checklist #6, huh – never seen these before, but there’s a Twin on it, so I guess I need to collect these, too; 2000 Upper Deck Exclusives Silver #424 Todd Walker [26/100], my first of these bad boys; 2000 Upper Deck Gold Reserve #102 Todd Walker

Inside the mega-stack of cards were a lot of cards GCRL found on my wantlists, plus a whole lot of stuff I hadn’t seen before (meaning my wantlist expanded more than contracted, thank-you-very-much!) and a few doubles for which I will endeavor to find a good home.


clockwise, from top left: 2003 Topps Tribute Perennial All-Stars #38 Kirby Puckett; 2006 Upper Deck Gold #697 Luis Rodriquez [133/299]; 2002 Upper Deck Plus #UD33 Brad Radke [647/1125], any excuse to post Brad; 2008 Upper Deck Heroes Black #100 Justin Morneau

Among my “firsts” Twins in this trade were: 2009 Topps Target, 2009 Topps Wal-Mart, 2000 Upper Deck Exclusives, 2000 Pacific Invincible Holographic Purple, 2008 Upper Deck Heroes Black…and probably others, once I finish sorting them all out.

Thanks again for the trade, GCRL! Hope the temperature is improving up there in God’s Country. Not sure if you’re a Vikings fan or not (Skol, Vikings!), but I’ve found that being an expatriate, it’s best for the hometeam to win…so you’re not surrounded by bunch of surly neighbors!

btw, I’m trying to get my wantlist formatted a little more friendly, but WordPress’ editor loves shuffling my HTML tags around. If you’ve been browsing through there, please be patient.

Leave a Reply

