The David Bass Documentaries

Recently over at Dinged Corners I was somewhat incorrectly described as a proponent of Upper Deck’s 2008 Documentary set of cards.  While I wouldn’t describe myself at all as a proponent (shoot, I’m sure several of the card fronts have a photo on front of a player who wasn’t even in the featured game!), I am fascinated with the thought of trying to collect all the Twins from the set.  There are not only 163 Twins home games, but 163 Twins away games, gold parallels of them, PLUS the Yankees insert game cards vs the Twins.  Still, I have to thank the Dinged Corners mention for possibly directing David Bass in my direction.

David not only hit my Documentary set with several cards I didn’t have yet, but even threw in some nice extras, too.  I have to compliment him for actually browsing through my want lists!  I had a few singles from David’s wantlist, but dropped by the local card shop for some additional 2008 & 2009 UD singles to help out his sets.  I only wish I’d known about the extra cards ahead of time — I’m going to have to send a follow-up package some day…


clockwise, from top left: 2008 Upper Deck Documentary #1970 (MIN70) Joe Mauer Game 70; 2008 Upper Deck Documentary #2488 (CLE88) Jhonny Peralta away Game 88; 2006 Fleer Ultra #163 Joe Mauer, odd seeing the mask but no other protection gear; 2008 Upper Deck Timeline Die Cut #201 Nick Blackburn

Even though almost all of the cards David sent were of Twins’ losses, he managed to send my first Gold away game card and my first Mauer photo game card.  Still need that first Yankees insert vs Twins card — my luck it would feature Derek Freakin’ Jeter.

Leave a Reply

