The Moth Whisperer

Okay, one question a person might ask me regarding photographing insects is, “Why moths?”  Good question.  I guess it comes down to:

  • there are so many varieties; well over 11,000 have been identified in N. America
  • identifying them can be an enjoyable challenge.  Thanks, Moth Photographers Group and BugGuide
  • they mostly hold still (and will sometimes allow handling), or are a fun exercise in patience and stealth
  • they don’t sting, bite, or emit an odor (not a huge consideration, but still)
  • there is a broad appeal — many are quite beautiful

Like I mentioned in my previous post, it became somewhat of a game at band camp to collect a moth in the early morning and “wear” it on my shirt.  Eventually, it became a burden when some of the kids there began bringing them to me, but I had an opportunity to photograph a lot of those, too, if I wasn’t busy with other things, and could educate the kids about some of the ones of which I had previous knowledge.

 Here are a few of the better photos from last week — hopefully I can add them (and the many others) to my insect website in the near future.  Enjoy!

Northern Pink-striped Oakworm Moth (Anisota virginiensis)
Pink-striped Oakworm Moth (Hodges 7723) Anisota virginiensis

Royal Walnut Moth (Hodges #7706) Citheronia regalis
Regal Moth, or Royal Walnut Moth (Hodges #7706) Citheronia regalis

Clymene Moth (Hodges #8107) Haploa clymene
Clymene Moth (Hodges #8107) Haploa clymene

Ash Sphinx Moth (Hodges 7783) Manduca jasminearum
Ash Sphinx Moth (Hodges 7783) Manduca jasminearum

3 responses to “The Moth Whisperer

  1. Really nice pictures, Rhu_Ru. I love the detail visible in the wings.

  2. I can’t believe how red the Regal Moth is; and I also can’t believe how they are just sitting in your hand. Very cool.

    • Most people can’t believe how large they are, too; without opening wide, they can almost cover your palm, and I’d say they’re only the 3rd largest I’ve seen there (1: Polyphemus, 2: Luna, 3: [tie] Regal and Imperial).

      The sphinx moth in the bottom photo rode the entire morning on the shirt of one of the band kids after I put it there!

Leave a Reply

