Friday Random 10 (Jazz Edition)

Friday means logging the first 10 tracks that play on my music player (set on “shuffle”).  This Friday I’ve tried a new a variation; I’ve set WMP to only play the “jazz” genre.  And the music, please:

  1. Crystal Silence” – Gary Burton & Chick Corea “Crystal Silence
  2. Chameleon” – Herbie Hancock “Head Hunters
  3. “Nights in White Satin” – Deodato “Deodato 2
  4. Spain” – Chick Corea & Return to Forever “Light as a Feather
  5. Earth Jam” – Béla Fleck & the Flecktones “Outbound
  6. “Cats of Rio” – Dave Grusin with Lee Ritenour “Harlequin
  7. “Chia’s Theme” – Chuck Mangione “Journey to a Rainbow
  8. Black Ice” – Jeff Lorber Fusion “Lift Off
  9. No Mystery” – Return to Forever “No Mystery
  10. “Sky Blue” – Passport “Sky Blue

Ended up with three title tracks in the list.

2 responses to “Friday Random 10 (Jazz Edition)

  1. 1. Hot Lava – 2009 Bar/None Records Sampler: “Apple+Option+Fire.” I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve ever listened to this song. Seems a bit above average, I’d give it another listen. Labels must put the best songs on a sampler, or something like that.
    2. Weezer – Weezer (Blue Album): “My Name Is Jonas.” Guitar Hero greatly increased my enjoyment of this song. Not that I ever didn’t like the song, but I am predisposed to like Guitar Hero songs. Must be good marketing or something like that. See Rise Against: “Prayer of the Refugee” which became my favorite RA song after playing the game.
    3. Taylor Swift – Taylor Swift: “The Outside.” Damn it. Getting back to my “roots” I guess, or something like that. Taylor Swift is hilarious for an under aged female country singer so I guess that is a plus.
    4. Incubus – Morning View: “Circles.” I wouldn’t mind if Incubus would pop up more frequently, I also wouldn’t mind a new album. Are they still together? I should pay more attention.
    5. Bloc Party – Intimacy: “Flux.” Silent Alarm > Intimacy > . . . > Weekend In the City, or something like that.
    6. Live – Throwing Copper: “Selling the Drama.” Live must be good live. Its self defining, or well I think you know.
    7. Finch – What It Is to Burn: “New Beginnings.” I wish Finch wouldn’t have broken up so early in their career, I spend a lot of time rocking out to this album.
    8. Kenny Chesney – Be as You Are (Songs from an Old Blue Chair): “Old Blue Chair.” The title track isn’t the best song on this album. I’m not sure Chesney owns any shirts with sleeves.
    9. The Academy Is… – Almost Here: “Classifieds.” I’m not sure if they’ve dropped the “…” yet. They need to get on that.
    10. John Mellencamp – The Best That I Could Do 1978-1988: “Cherry Bomb.” Is that really the best John Cougar could do? Good song to end the list.

  2. Dredg – Zebraskin – Catch Without Arms
    Queens of the Stone Age – Battery Acid – Era Vulgaris
    Led Zeppelin – Fool in the Rain – In Through the Out Door
    …And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead – Relative Ways – Source Tags and Codes
    Foo Fighters – Disenchanted Lullaby – One by One
    Nirvana – Curmudgeon – With the Lights Out
    System of a Down – Pictures – Steal This Album
    Butthole Surfers – Pepper – Electric Larryland
    Deftones – Minerva – Deftones
    Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young – Carry On – Déjá Vu

Leave a Reply

